Ogier captures fifth Rally Mexico win to peg back leader Tänak

Sebastien Ogier (FRA) and Julien Ingrassia (FRA) of team Citroen Total WRT celebrate on the podium after winning the World Rally Championship Mexico in Leon,Mexico on March 10 2019 // Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool // AP-1YPBP89KS1W11 // Usage for editorial use only // Please go to www.redbullcontentpool.com for further information. //

Frenchman holds off Estonian to cut title gap to four points heading to Corsica

Sebastien Ogierand Julien Ingrassia take the win at Rally Mexico. Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool

Sébastien Ogier claimed his fifth Rally Guanajuato Mexico victory on Sunday afternoon to eat into Ott Tänak’s early season FIA World Rally Championship advantage.

Ogier never relinquished the lead after moving his Citroën C3 to the front of the four-day encounter on Friday afternoon. He headed Tänak by 30.2sec after the Estonian outgunned Elfyn Evans in a final-day fight for second.
His 46th career success was achieved with a third different manufacturer after previous victories with Volkswagen and Ford.
Scorching heat and tough gravel tracks in mountains near León ensured a rally of attrition, but Ogier delivered a measured display for his second consecutive Mexico triumph.
He overcame a differential problem and a trip into a tyre wall on Saturday night, and had to maintain a strong pace today to keep the door firmly closed on a charging Tänak.
Ogier, who made his WRC debut in Mexico in 2008, said: “It has always been a special place since the start of my career and I’m glad it remains that way.”

Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin on their way to second place at Rally Mexico. Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool

“It’s been a tough weekend in difficult conditions. It wasn’t a trouble-free rally for us, but we managed to make the best of it and came out with maximum points,” added the Frenchman, who also scooped maximum bonus points by winning the Wolf Power Stage by 0.025sec.
Second for Tänak exceeded his dreams. As championship leader, the Toyota Yaris driver opened the roads in Friday’s first leg and faced the worst of the conditions, conceding big chunks of time ploughing a clean line through thick gravel.
He started the final leg, in which temperatures again topped 30°C, 2.2sec adrift of Evans. He overhauled the Welshman in the opening test to eventually end 19.2sec ahead. The pair were the only topline drivers to avoid problems in the gruelling conditions.

Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul round out the podium at Rally Mexico. Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool

Thierry Neuville and his Hyundai i20 were both off-colour en route to fourth. The Belgian fought illness during the rally and struggled for pace in the high-altitude stages. He dropped to third in the championship standings behind Tänak.
Kris Meeke finished fifth, his best result since joining Toyota Gazoo Racing. With a huge time advantage over sixth-placed Benito Guerra, the Ulsterman drove slowly through today’s initial stages to ensure his tyres were in the best condition to chase a Wolf Power Stage win, only to be denied by Ogier.
The championship returns to Europe later this month for the opening all-asphalt fixture. The Corsica Linea – Tour de Corse is based in Bastia on March 28-31.
Final positions:
1. S Ogier / J Ingrassia FRA Citroën C3 3hr 37min 08.0sec
2. O Tänak / M Järveoja EST Toyota Yaris +30.2sec
3. E Evans / S Martin GBR Ford Fiesta +49.9sec
4. T Neuville / N Gilsoul BEL Hyundai i20 +1min 27.0sec
5. K Meeke / S Marshall GBR Toyota Yaris +6min 06.2sec
6. B Guerra / J Zapata MEX Skoda Fabia +15min 35.5sec

FIA World Rally Championship (after round 3 of 14)
1. O Tänak 65pts
2. S Ogier 61pts
3. T Neuville 55pts

Spread the word. Share this post!